Kill the Talking Elk

Leap_the_Elk  _and_Princess_Tuvstar_ John_Bauer

Leap the Elk and Princess Tuvstar, John Bauer

Not the rubbish sequel to Drop the Dead Donkey: writing advice from my daughter.

It hasn’t been quite the productive week for writing I planned, mainly because of two events. The first is lovely but has kept me busy: I’m volunteering to help organise this year’s Writeidea Festival, London’s only free literature festival. I’ll post about that as soon as the website is live. Do please follow @writeidea to find out more in the meantime.

The second wasn’t quite so much fun. I ran into a nasty git and was assaulted. I’ll post about that too after he’s been sentenced early next month. It’s preoccupied my thoughts to an extent that has taken me by surprise, hardened cynic that I am.

So: writing. It’s now 1120 on Friday morning and I have written about four words since I got up at 0700. I’ve edited the first 5K words again and am about to rewrite a first turning point, where the action steps up a gear and forces a change for the main character. Her name has also changed over the past week.

She was nicknamed Moo and this has altered to Mu. Because, reasons. It might not sound much but it feels like one of the family wandered home and announced they wanted to be known as something different.

Anyway, back to elk. I have rather a thing about elk. I have been to Sweden perhaps 20 times now and, apart from at Skansen, the wonderful open air museum in Stockholm, I have never seen an elk. This is a constant source of amusement to my Swedish family, who take a sadistic delight in pointing out the abundance of elk in my absence.

‘Oh, look over there! That’s where we saw the mama elk and her twin babies, yesterday before you arrived/the day after you left.’ I’ve seen elk-hunting platforms on all over Småland, where most of my siblings live, and evidently ex-brother-in-law Adolf (I bet no-one else has one of those round here) makes a comfortable living from organising such hunting.

They are beautiful creatures. Although I know they kill a number of people each year by running into cars, I love seeing the elk warning signs on the road and long to meet one face to face in the wild.

So, when I wanted some form of magical animal in my Young Adult fantasy novel, part of which is set in Swedish forests, elk seemed obvious. A talking elk might not be in the league of Pantalaimon, Lyra’s daemon by Phillip Pullman in His Dark Materials – the greatest animal sidekick in literature – but he was the best I could do.

Sadly, Amelia loathes him. She also dislikes my heroine but rather fancies one of the boys in the story. I’m taking any views to mean the characters have some three-dimensionality or credibility so am not too worried about them.

I’ve learning a lot about my writing. I begin loads of sentences with pronouns (see?) and repeat phrases constantly. Description comes hard to me and I’m naturally concise, probably as a result of years of news- rather than feature-based journalism and pr.

And I think that the elk stays. For the moment.

The pic is by John Bauer, illustrator of Swedish folk stories, taken from bauer.artpassions.net

3 responses to “Kill the Talking Elk

  1. This rather reminds me of the first time Hattie and I went to Australia. Driving through the outback we repeatedly passed those yellow triangular signs warning of kangaroos that were presumably waiting to leap into the road if not actually onto our car. We travelled 300, 500, almost 1,000 miles. Not a spring-heeled marsupial in sight. We felt a little short-changed. Then ahead of us we suddenly spotted a kangaroo standing by the side of the road. Unfortunately it was a rather sickly, scabby looking specimen but at least it was the real thing. We pulled over, wound down the window and took photographs – dozens of them. Eventually, our appetite for kangaroo shots thoroughly sated, we drove on. Less than half-a-mile up the road there were fields full of the bastards. Hundreds of them. Each one a magnificent beast. Somehow though the idea of spending the afternoon kangaroo-spotting had already lost its magic. Which is why, I suspect, I will never write about kangaroos. Oh hang on a minute, I just have.

  2. Pingback: A talking elk, a turtle, and powerful motivation | weeklyblogclub

  3. Pingback: #bookaday | karenatstepney

Leave a Reply

